“We’re Going In Another Direction”

My Facebook Memory feature reminded me that it was 10 years ago on May 21 that I was informed that Global TV was “going in another direction.” That direction did not include me and my last day on TV after a 20-year run would be May 27. It hadn’t been that long prior to that bit of news that I had been given an edict that there would be changes to the personnel of the morning show on CJOC radio.  Again, did not include me. And just to make it an even three, I had been writing a weekly column for The Journal Newspaper and it folded. My career in media that started in 1974 had essentially come to an end.  I felt like that parrot in the old Monty Python skit. I was no more!! I had ceased to be!! I know I’m not the only person who has gone through this sort of life-altering, soul-crushing event but you sure feel alone for awhile. Media was the only job I had ever had in 40 years. Had I gone way past my expiration date? Was I relevant anymore? Were people laughing at me and not with me?

People were very kind to me on social media. There was some solace in knowing that what I had done over four decades meant something to some people. And I really appreciated that people took a moment to say, “You’re going to land on your feet, something else will turn up.

That sentiment was very nice but the day I walked out the back door of Global TV for the last time at the age of 58 knowing I had nothing, and I mean nothing lined up for my future was daunting. A memory of me being in that studio as a 10-year old on the Kids Bids show flashed before me. I had seen the legendary Bill Matheson’s weather map with his infamous scribblings and I remember thinking, “I want to do what he does one day.” And I got to do it. For 20 years. (Never as good as he was.)

So there I was in the parking lot of Global feeling numb, very alone and if I’m being honest, quite bitter. The head honcho from Toronto who brought the news to the staff told everyone in the meeting that the Lethbridge weather would be done out of Calgary with a very talented crew there. “Um…Hello…I’m right here.”

I bring this up not as a poor me story looking for pity but perhaps as a reminder to everyone no matter what job you are doing to always have a plan B. Always be ready to pivot. To quote Big Brother, “Expect the unexpected.”

I truly believed that I would be in some form of media until I made the decision (emphasis on I) to retire. That decision ended up being made for me.

Media has certainly evolved since there was a position to do the all-night show on CHEC radio in 1974. It seemed there would always be a job. CHEC had the ability to field a slow-pitch team with mostly on-air talent. Good luck finding that now in Lethbridge. When I started at Global there were 90 employees. Today they’re in a downtown office with a handful of reporters. You only have to walk up to the second floor of the Lethbridge Herald Newsroom to see the only person there is Al Beeber to realize it’s a tough business in the print world. It wasn’t too long ago, that room seemed as active as a movie depiction of the New York Times.

It took me awhile to accept that I wasn’t an on-air personality anymore. (Even though people still come up to me after 10 years and say, “Hey you’re that guy on TV.”)

My personal experience deals with life in media. Many other professions go through very similar things.

Life is about enjoying the enjoyable moments. But it’s also about the inevitable curve balls you’re going to get. I’m not some great guru with a profound philosophy but it’s my belief that how you navigate through the low moments defines who you are.

You can make the decisions. You set the terms. You canfigure it out.

(It does help to have a supportive wife)

I did land on my feet. Something did turn up and I’ve been fortunate to be on City Council for seven years. My 1976 Boogie Man self would have said, “A Councillor? Hahahaha! Ya, right! As Buddy Holly would say, ‘That’ll be the day.”

Don’t fear the pivot.

Leave a comment