Cool Cars, Interesting People: Million Dollar Quartet

I’m happy to say I’m back to doing some brand new episodes of Cool Cars, Interesting People which as the name implies is a show where we look at a cool car, find some interesting people, drive them in said cool car and then go somewhere for an interview, maybe have a cup of joe or a beer. Now you might say this sounds like a rip off of Jerry Seinfeld’s Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee. You would be right. I love what he does and I wanted to try to incorporate that formula into something local. It all started a couple of years ago and I’ve been thrilled that people have actually agreed to be a part of the show and not only that, we’ve been able to drive some quality cars and trucks—admittedly some nicer than others. I do enjoy an in depth talk with various personalities to find out what makes them tick and how they got to where they got to. Most people have been locals including the likes of Ron Sakamoto, Olympian Jim Steacy, and Hurricane Head Coach Brent Kisio. We’ve also talked to singers Valdy and Tim Hus who were coming through town for a show. (John Mellencamp if you’re reading this, give me a call when you’re in the city next month.)

After about a 10-month hiatus (there was that election back in October of last year that took up some time) I’ve once again teamed up with Chris Oates of Cogo Productions and photographer Wayne Dwornik to produce this series that I hope will be entertaining and informative.

Our newest episode features a 2017 Shelby GT 350 Mustang which was lent to us by Troy Mihalicz of College Ford Lincoln. Troy tells me this has the most powerful naturally aspirated engine in Ford’s history. I love the color of blue on this baby and loved revving up the engine. It was a big difference from my Dodge Caravan.

We have two guests on this show. They are Devon Brayne and Matt Cage who are starring in the upcoming show produced by New West Theatre, Million Dollar Quartet. Devon, who is a New West Veteran is playing the part of Johnny Cash and Matt who comes from Ontario is playing the part of Elvis. Both are very talented actors and singers and both were very fun to talk to. You may not know it but Devon really had to squeeze into the back seat of the Mustang to make this happen. Mustangs are known for their outer sleek design and powerful motors but fall short on leg room for a back-seat passenger. We drove to Java The Hut and enjoyed a nice cup of coffee and sang a couple of songs along the way.

Get your tickets for this show that runs Sept. 12-29 at http://www.newwesttheatre.com

We have a brand new website for you to check out and I hope you patronize the businesses that are listed. If you have any suggestions on people you would like featured let me know at greetergrammer1@gmail.com I would love to hear from you.

https://www.coolcarsinterestingpeople.com/

Leave a comment