Random Thoughts On A Saturday Afternoon

I’ve been doing Cool Cars, Interesting People for a couple of years now. Mostly we’ve been using newer model cars and trucks for the “cool car” portion of the show. While I appreciate all of the advancements in technology and how great they all run, most brand new cars tend to look the same. A 2018 Nissan Rouge is not vastly different from a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe. (Please don’t yell at me for that.) Both are great cars that are really safe with a lot of features. And then there’s the old classics. A 1960 Chev Bel Air is considerably different than a 1960 Ford Falcon. And this week we took out a 1937 Cadillac Fleetwood Limousine. Wow. There’s just something about those old vehicles that make you say, Wow. And I did. I think it is my favorite car that we’ve ever used. Having said that, I would never want to drive it around town for much more than a few blocks. It’s a big heavy unit with a limited range of motion. And it didn’t have seat belts or signal lights. But I loved it. It made me feel like I was in an old Al Capone movie. (I’m happy to say I didn’t get wacked during the interview in a downtown coffee shop known as Java The Hut.) Watch for this show in the next week or so that features Fran Rude & Ken Rogers. We have a new website where we hope to have a bunch of stuff on a regular basis. Check out www.coolcarsinterestingpeople.com

I had the great pleasure of delivering a bouquet of flowers to a special needs gal last week in the Petal It Forward campaign that Panda Flowers does. People get nominated for being good people and we choose someone once a week. Everyone is very pleased about getting a beautiful bouquet of flowers but the enthusiasm of this young gal just filled me with such joy. It was like she won the lottery.

Going in a totally different direction, my dog has been dealing with diarrhea recently. We’ve got him on some new food and I’m happy to say for the last couple of days he’s been having normal movements. So if you happen to have been passing by me in the park and you heard, “Oooh…good boy…solid poop.” My apologies. But I really was so pleased. I think he was too.

Don’t you hate it when you’re at the grocery store and you keep on running into the same person down each aisle? I actually went to the totally opposite end of the store just so I could avoid that person. Not that there was anything wrong with that person, it was just awkward.

I was watching KTLA today. (It’s the Los Angles station that you can get on Cable.) My wife is from LA so it’s mandatory in our house. I did not realize that Rick Monday is a broadcaster for the Dodgers. He was being interviewed today. Much to my wife’s disbelief, when I realized who he was I went, “AHHHHHHH!!!! NO!!!!””

For those of you who don’t know why I did that, you are not a true former Montreal Expo fan.

I’m now cheering for the Dodgers based on the history that Lethbridge has with the team. We had their Rookie League team back in the late 70s. Two of those kids went on to win the World Series in 1981and 1988: Steve Sax and Mike Marshall. That’s cool.

 

Leave a comment