Bloggin’ Along. I’m Having Some Fun.

I’ve been really enjoying the opportunity to do blog interviews with people who I think are interesting and have great stories to tell. Whether or not my reader (s?) find them interesting is another story but I truly appreciate it when people take time out of their busy schedule to answer my questions. Admittedly, some of the questions are rather inane but what can I say? I’m working through some issues. The asking is the easy part. The responses often take a great deal of thought and effort so I am forever grateful when an e-mail comes through with the completed task. It reminds me of when I was a kid and I’d mail away for a “Revolutionary War soldiers” collection that you’d find on the back of a Batman comic book. I’d go to the mailbox every day hoping the package would arrive. When it would come it was the best day ever.

So nowadays my big thrill is getting an e-mail from someone who I’ve asked to be a part of my blog. They get absolutely no pay and since I don’t have a massive following there’s really not a lot of benefit for them. Yet I am blown away with how insightful and detailed their responses are. I find that very cool. (Are kids using the term “cool” in this vernacular these days?)

In recent blogs it was fun to tap into the mind of Randy Royer who has done a lot of thinking and has a lot of passion about our democracy and how we can improve it. I particularly admired his frank and honest response to my question about a fellow schoolmate, Nelson Small Legs Jr. who took his own life in the 70s to protest how natives had been treated over the past 20 years.

It was fun to talk to my old co-host on LAFM, Hal Anderson. (And by old, I mean it in a figurative way…I think) He reminisced about how he become the 34th greatest Canadian of all time and how up and coming rock star Chad Kroeger of Nickleback owed him money for beer.

Cal Toth of Dueling Pianos has some great ideas about the kind of show he would do if he was given a $1 million cheque.

And most recently, Jaybo Russell of Great West/New West Theatre fame told a great ghost story about the Phantom of the Empress Theatre in Fort Macleod.

I believe there are endless stories to be told that are both poignant, entertaining and weird. (Weird can be good.) So thanks to those of you who have contributed, (cheque’s in the e-mail.) And my apologies to those who I will continue to annoy until you give me some answers.

Now because as the title of this blog suggests: “random thoughts at random times.” I was giving my daughter, Nyssa a ride last week when she said, “Do you want to read the poem I wrote yesterday?” Of course I said, “Sure.” She opened up her phone and proceeded to recite what I thought was a remarkable and personal emotion. I had to ask her to forward it to me so I could put it on my Facebook page. I thought I’d include it in my Blog today:

 

Lucky Penny

 

That’s right.. I’m not the one you want..

I’m not that shiny penny..

I’m that penny everyone forgets about..

I’m not new, not freshly printed..

I’ve been kicked in dirt.. dropped and forgotten.

 

That penny you say you want..

The one that has been around for a while..

The one that has been left on the tracks and flattened..

Bruised, beaten and bloody, the quiet penny..

I’m That one.

 

You really want that new shiny penny?

Doesn’t everyone want that new penny?

The one that looks the nicest?

That beautiful one?

That new one?

That new penny might look nice..

But this one knows what nice will get you..

This penny doesn’t mind if you drop it on the floor and step on it..

In fact this penny relishes that feeling..

I’m the strong penny, that one that will always be around.

 

So go ahead..

Pick up that new penny and put it in your pocket..

It wont get you anywhere but closer to vanity..

Pass this penny on by..

Let someone else pick me up

I will just be Their luck!

Pretty good eh?

And now this joke:

It was so warm yesterday I saw a robin put his worm in the fridge for a few minutes.