A Talk With Trevor (Panczak That Is)

One of the favorite parts of the job I had doing Scene & Heard on Global TV over 15 years was getting the opportunity to watch young performers get better at their craft. The first time I interviewed country singer Trevor Panczak I knew he had something special. He had the voice, the charm and the desire to make it in a very competitive industry. I watched as he set out to win the prestigious Colgate Country Showdown which was a national singing competition in the U.S. He entered on a number of occasions making it through the Montana State and regional finals but never quite getting to the grand finale. And then it happened. In 2008 he was one of 6 acts chosen from across America and the first ever Canadian to compete for $100,000 at the historic Ryman Theatre in Nashville. I got the unbelievable opportunity to take a camera crew down to Tennessee and document the entire weekend. It was amazing. Trevor came in 2nd. The audience seemed to love him more than the winner and in my unbiased opinion I think he should have won. Even talking afterward to legendary singer and judge Patti Page, she couldn’t believe he didn’t win. However, it was just another chapter in a blossoming career for Trevor. He’s put out a couple of great singles, For A Girl and his latest, Tan Lines, has toured across the country and been given the opportunity to open for the likes of Tim McGraw, Zak Brown Band and Don Williams. On August 1st he will play in front of his home town at the Enmax. There’s a couple other bands helping him out. You may have heard of High Valley and Lady Antebellum. Trevor took the time out of a very busy schedule to answer a few questions.

Now that it’s been a few years since you almost won the Country Showdown after performing on the Ryman Stage in Nashville, when you reflect back, what did that experience do for you?

If you asked the other contestants it is my feeling that they would all answer with a similar tone…we all won. Ok, 5 out of 6 of us didn’t get the $100,000 prize but, we were the top 6 out of 50,000 contestants, we sang at the hallowed Ryman Auditorium, Charlie McCoy was our band leader, and Patti Page was a judge. (She even asked me to tour with her (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mihs0RdyyDo) Memories that will last a lifetime were made with about 90 family and friends from home that came along to support the adventure. New, lasting friendships were made as well. ie: Eldon Johnson / Michael D Clute etc.

I’ve always felt that I did my best that night and that’s all I can ever do. I have my Dad to thank for that lesson. That trip helped solidify a relationship with Michael D. Clute who produced and co-wrote a lot of my material. What he did for me as an artist is priceless. He will always be a treasured friend.

You’ve always been a gentleman. Is that something that came naturally for you growing up or did someone have to slap you on the behind and say, “You better mind your manners young man.”

I think for the most part it was in my raising. My Dad was the same way and I always wanted to be like him.

You’ve had some amazing opportunities opening for some great country acts. What’s been your favorite one so far?

There are favorite moments in all of the openings….but going on the road on the Don Williams tour has to be at the top right now.

How important has it been to know the legendary Ron Sakamoto?

Living in the same city as a Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame inductee is definitely an asset. There’s not too many others out there that have done as much for the community, and the country for that matter, as Ron Sakamoto. Shawn, his son, who is the future of the business really believes in me as well. I work and speak with him regularly about the future of my career. I am so thankful to have grown up here and to have the Sakamoto’s in my corner!

You’ve toured across the country. That’s a lot of miles. Was that fun or was that tough?

I LOVE what I do so even though there’s a lot of miles and a lot of work that most people don’t really get to see, it’s all worth it in the end. I’m fortunate to have known for a long time that music is my life’s passion.

What’s the one meal you’ve got to have when you’re on the road?

Lunch. Haha! I’m not too fussy but I ate at Moxies often! Its’ always good there. Oh there was this roadside fish market in Nova Scotia that had “to die for” lobster sandwiches. I still think about that yummy place.

How do you like the process of doing a video?

It has its challenges and I’m relatively new to the video “game.” I definitely couldn’t have done my videos without the support of my team of friends helping me along the way. I like the set-up of videos and bringing the song from a mind’s eye perspective to the small screen. The work and organization that goes into it is tough but to see the fruits of the labor come through in the end makes it all worth it.

What are the five albums you would have to take with you if you had to spend a month on a desert island? (Don’t ask why you were sent there)

The Merle Haggard box set has 5 cd’s in it. If that doesnt’ count then…

1-Don williams Vol 4

  1. Smokey and the Bandit soundtrack
  2. Anything Hank Jr
  3. The tribute to Waylon album
  4. My Dad’s album

Garth Brooks and George Straight are at a party that you’re at. You’re given the choice to talk to just one of them. Who would it be?

George Strait. I loved him first.

You still live in Southern Alberta. Do you think it’s important for your career to move away to say Nashville?

There’s a lot of different ways to pursue a dream, and there is no way to copy another artist’s route in the pursuit of theirs. I go to Nashville regularly and do what I need to do. I go more and more as time goes by. I will have a place down there one day but for now home is Lethbridge.

Talk about the vibe there in Nashville.

Nashville is my second favorite place in the world. It has a great vibe. The music scene is 2nd to none and it has more to offer than just country. It has everything you could ask for. Good food, great people and the landscape and weather is amazing. Plus the friends I have there are simply put…real.

What has been your biggest break so far?

Having a top 50 hit in Canada.

In my opinion your single For A Girl is your best work yet.

I would agree. But let’s see how Tan Line finishes up this summer. It received more views faster than For a Girl did. I think the whole recording project is my best yet. I’m excited to release the whole album.

Have you ever dropped your guitar in a Beachcomber hot tub?

Luckily I haven’t ever dropped a guitar. Knock on wood:)

Like it or not, the music business is a lot about image. How serious do you take keeping your weight down so you can look good on the stage?

Well… It’s a constant challenge I face. I love food… cooking and consuming it. Fortunately at 6’4” I can hide a few pounds here and there. I think have been doing a lot of fat burning exercising lately. I need to get to panther status for sure.

Country artists are big believers in giving back. You’re no exception. What charitable groups are most important to you?

Any worthwhile charity that donated money doesn’t get lost to administration costs.

The Ronald Mcdonald House is always at the top of my list. On top of that, we just did a one of a kind fundraiser for the Lethbridge Therapeutic Riding Association at Perlich Bros. Auction Market where we surpassed our goal of $75,000 and raised about $130,000 to finish off getting the LTRA enough funds to build a new building after the old one collapsed due to heavy snowfall. We called it Music at the Stockyards. It was awesome. Johnny Perlich always wanted to have music at the market and I was proud to be the friend he picked to sing out there. It was amazing to see the whole community gathered to help get the kids back into a year round facility.

Have you ever had your guitar run over by a Dodge truck from Northside Dodge?

Not yet!! Although Darren Code is still a little sore about me running his CD over… I am so thankful to work there. Having a job keeps everything in perspective. I primarily do community investment there now so it allows me the flexibility to gain more ground in the music industry as well as be even more involved with the community when I’m here at home. It’s very humbling for me to get a paycheck for being me. I think my Dad who was a GM guy would be very proud of the work I do at Northside Lethbridge Dodge. Plus, having the Gallant family believe that much in me to make me the face of their company is a blessing in itself.

What does a cowboy hat have to have to make you want to wear it?

It would be like George Strait singing about Texas… gotta have a lot of X’s.

You lost your dad to cancer at a fairly young age. How important was he to you growing up and what do you think he would say to you today?

He and my Grandma Lola are the main reason I am singing today. He taught me all the things a dad should teach a son. Dad would be proud. He would be especially proud with the direction I’ve taken the project in the last 11 months or so. He would be proud of the team I have in place, the friends I’ve surrounded myself with and all the successes that have come along the way. He would be most proud of the life I have at home. As long as I am still having fun helping in my community, remembering my roots and doing the best I can do then that’s all he would ask for.

For kids who want to be hockey players, they dream about scoring the overtime goal in game 7 of the Stanley Cup. What’s that dream for you when it comes to your career in music?

I had that dream too!

My dreams are small… I just want to be the most successful Male Country artist in Canada. After one dream gets checked off the list, like singing at the Ryman for instance, another one gets pushed to the forefront. As I work towards more arena based concert tours and radio airplay, I’d say singing at the Grand Ole Opry would be at the top of the list. Then I would like to be a member of The Grand Ole Opry and have Blake Shelton invite me to do so. That would be an ultimate dream come true.