Monday Morning Brain Movements

When I heard the Country 95/B 93 Christmas party was going to have a mentalist as the entertainment I admit my first thought was, “this is going to go bad.” You’ve got a group of drinking radio people who one might describe as a bunch of attention seeking smart asses. (I include myself in that.) Unless the mentalist is in complete control the situation could deteriorate quickly.

I’m happy to say it did not. Jeff Newman blew us away with his Kreskin-like ability including correctly telling me the 10-digit serial number that was on my 20-dollar bill. I have no idea how he did that. In no way did he ever see it in advance nor did I ever show it to an accomplice. And how did that dead body end up in my trunk? Crazy. (That last part was a joke…seriously, it was a joke. There were no dead bodies recovered in my trunk that night. No need to check further.) I totally recommend him for your office party or event. http://newmanmentalism.com/

I was stunned to hear that The River decided to “go in another direction” with their morning show ending a long career for Cathy Martin. Cathy started just after I was there in the late 80s. (LA FM) There are a lot of personal emotions that are evoked when I hear about a corporate decision from a big city that impacts people in a small city and I’m probably better off leaving my thoughts to myself for now.

Ever since I can remember I always tried to make people laugh. Sometimes they do, sometimes my attempts at humor fail miserably. It’s the nature of comedy. I remember a woman calling management to complain about my line which I thought was hilarious: “The nude racquetball lessons were cancelled because of an injury to the instructor.” She said she was disgusted and she didn’t want her kids to hear that kind of vulgarity on the radio.

Last week I got a tweet that said “Please stop, just stop your jokes are awful!!!”

The trouble is, I can’t stop much to the chagrin of many people in my life. Humor is my default mechanism for everything. It’s how I cope. So the best thing for the person who sent that tweet is to stop following me because you’re going to be disappointed daily. I will not stop until everyone has at the very least, accidentally smiled for one brief moment at something I’ve said. (I’ll probably die before that happens but it’s my goal.)

It’s December and the temperature is continuing to be mild as we are impacted by an El Nino event. I’m good with that. I hope the mountains get a lot of snow for the skiers but not having to put on extra layers of clothing and driving on clear roads all winter wouldn’t break my heart.

I used the Red Nose service on the weekend. It’s a great way to get home safely. It’s particularly nice to have your vehicle driven home for you. Of course the money goes to Pronghorn Athletics at the U of L, something I’m happy to support. I had two young gals take me home. One from the soccer team and one from swimming. And they were fine with helping me throw the bulky package I had in my trunk into the river. (I kid, I kid!!) Keep the number in your wallet: 403-320-4155.