I Love The Spengler Cup

I’m trying to figure out why I love the Spengler Cup Tournament so much. To the uninformed, “The Spengler Cup is an annual invitational ice hockey tournament held in Davos, Switzerland. First held in 1923, the Spengler Cup is often cited as the oldest invitational ice hockey tournament in the world. The event is hosted by the Swiss team HC Davos and played each year in Davos, Switzerland, between Christmas (December 25) and New Year’s Day.

It was originally devised by Dr. Carl Spengler as a means to promote teams from German-speaking Europe, who might have suffered ostracism in the aftermath of World War I. Eventually, the tournament grew well beyond expectations. Many of Europe’s most prestigious clubs and national programs have appeared, including Soviet, Swedish, Finnish, Czechoslovak and German powerhouses. In 1984 Team Canada began participating and has since won the Cup twelve times. Team Canada is predominantly made up of Canadians playing in Europe, as well as American Hockey League prospects.” –Wikipedia.

I probably got interested initially because I loved it when any Canadian hockey team got involved in an international competition. That was spurred on by the 1972 Canada-Russia summit series when Canada’s hockey supremacy was called into question. We learned then that other countries are pretty good at our sport. How dare they? I wanted Canada to win anytime they played anyone anywhere. Of course that didn’t always happen as Canada could never send it’s very best when it came to The Olympics or the World Championships. Or the Spengler. At least with the Spengler, there is a more even playing field. When the Russian Red Army was winning all their championships, let’s face it they were a professional team that was as good as the Montreal Canadiens in their dynasty years. Any Canadian victory came from pure heart. Who remembers the Izvestia Tournament that was played in Russia around Christmas? Very prestigious in Europe. Canada won it in 1987. It was a huge deal that few remember. But I definitely do. All Canadian heart: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/sports/the-1987-izvestia-tournament-canadas-little-known-miracle-on-ice/article6702634/?page=all

Maybe that’s what it is about the Spengler that I love. It’s Canadians wearing that Maple Leaf playing with the grit and determination that defines a nation. It’s not a world championship or an Olympics or a Stanley Cup. But it’s another showcase that exemplifies who we are as Canadians. Is that too deep? Maybe the egg nog is getting to me. If I start saying, “You’re my best friend,” go to another blog.

Maybe I like the Spengler because in years past, many former Lethbridge Hurricanes have been part of Team Canada like Wes Walz and Byron Ritchie. Lethbridge’s own Stacy Roest played a number of years at the Spengler and was even named to the 2004 All Star team.

Maybe I just like the tournament because every uniform is like reading a phone book filled with ads. You never know if a player is actually named Skoda.

Maybe it’s a Swiss thing. I’d love to go to Switzerland one day around Christmas to experience the atmosphere. I have a friend who lives in Switzerland who actually follows Swiss hockey. I met him in New Zealand back in 1979 and we’ve kept in touch. He is the first to e-mail me when Switzerland beats Canada in hockey. (I haven’t heard from him a lot.)

Maybe it’s because I could go to a game in Davos and yodel and no one would notice.

Whatever the reason, I love the Spengler. Go Canada.