Celebrating Christmas, Sinatra Style

The Lethbridge Jazz Society is presenting “A Perfectly Frank Christmas” Thursday December 17 at 7:30 p.m. in the U of L Theatre. It’ll be a nice way to embrace the holiday spirit with Frank Sinatra and Holiday Classics performed by the Calgary Jazz Orchestra led by Johnny Summers. Johnny is a 5 time Global Musician Award Recipient and has offered this sold out show to Calgary for many years. Don Robb of the Lethbridge Jazz Society tells me they’re very excited to be partnering with the Calgary group to bring world class jazz music to Lethbridge. I had a chance to talk to Johnny about his career and what we can expect on Thursday night.

Ok. Fess up. Is Johnny Summers your real name?

Ha, yes.

Tell Lethbridge people a little about who you are and your musical background.

I’m a vocalist, trumpeter, composer/arranger and I pretty much like all GOOD music. I was inspired in my teens by Louis Armstrong and Harry Connick Jr. so that started to set my path, and I’ve explored a huge range of awesome music since. I have a degree in Jazz Studies, but really most of what I have learned is just through a career of playing with hyper skilled musicians my whole life through a range of styles.

What kind of repertoire can we expect on the night of your show?

Some standard Christmas fare however, not like you’ve heard it before! Riddled with outstanding statements from the soloists and the huge punch of a Jazz Orchestra (Big Band) in a range of styles through swing, New Orleans funk and more! Also, Sinatra’s music. Some approached like Sinatra did, some re-imagined, but all full of life.

How big of an orchestra are you bringing?

Vocalist

4 trumpets

4 trombones

5 saxophones (that all double on various other woodwinds, flute, clarinet etc.)

Piano

Acoustic Bass

Drums

So… pretty big. Especially to tour with!

In your mind, what makes Frank Sinatra one of the greatest performers ever?

He taught everyone to sing, to phrase. In the advent of popular song he was one of the first to be truly unique within the style on his genre. Plus. He was a consummate professional, and a personality larger than life. All this made him an excellent front man, and why his music still reaches generations today!

Is it tough to fit in all the other Christmas activities with doing a show at this time of year or does it just add to the fun?

Wow yes. A full-time musician’s life is always… full. Days, nights, rehearsals, touring, performing, practicing, writing, and the overwhelming writing, and business logistics! My musicians, family and friends are all very understanding and supportive. Otherwise I honestly couldn’t do it! But in the end, after connecting with people? Yeah, it’s amazing fun. More than fun, it’s a real artistic experience to connect with people through music. To me, I have the best job in the world.

Since it’s close to Christmas, what’s your favorite present ever?

When I was a kid, Lego, always. Loved it. (kinda probably still do, ha) Now? Just health and happiness for my family, friends and everyone really. I’m not that into “stuff” like when I was a kid. Although… if someone shows up at concert with a lego set… probably wouldn’t turn it down… just sayin 😉 haha

Do you find that younger people are embracing jazz and big band music?

Yes absolutely. The music is so rich in language. Young people more and more are looking for something authentic. Our culture is so inundated with half-truths in advertising, government and more, that I think we all respond better to authenticity and integrity, and this music is full of that. There is no “auto tune” on me or any of us when you come to hear us. Plus, the music is FUN.

What’s your favorite Frank tune and why?

I’m asked this a lot. I have a lot of favourites! But one that stands out is called “The Last Dance”. I like it because I’m a hopeless old fashioned romantic and this song embodies that. Plus the recording is so understated, swinging, romantic, and full of the almost intangible nuances in the players and Frank that it draws you in. Check it out, close your eyes, it’ll draw you in.

What’s your favorite Christmas song and why?

Silent night, because it’s beautiful! Words and melody.

Through the magic of a Christmas Elf you’ve just been invited to play for a massive audience at the Scotia Bank Saddledome that includes some of the best jazz vocalists and trumpet players in the world. Would you rather sing or perform an intricate trumpet solo?

Wow… both? You won’t accept that will you…? Too bad, I’d find a way to do both. Actually, I’d find a way to bring Harry Connick Jr. up on stage to sing with me, that’s a dream, and then Wynton Marsalis up to play a trumpet duet. Yeah. I Kobayashi Maru the heck out of this question.

You’re releasing a new CD. Discuss.

Hmmm. I record music that I would like. I hope others do to. The most honouring and humbling thing to me is to have others listening to my music, especially if it becomes part of their traditions which I’m hoping the new Christmas album does. Other than that check it out here

https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/album/when-its-christmas-time/id1052872189?app=itunes

I prefer to let the music speak for itself. Or, I’m just a really slow typer, so answering this for you properly takes me too long. Or… both.

And now…give me your best sell job for why everyone should come to your show…

If you like music, if you like Christmas, if you like unique experiences, try it out. We are bringing a huge group of Canada’s top musicians to your doorstep, and it just takes a little time to check it out. Then you can come on a journey with us. I honestly think you will love it. Thanks for reading!

LethJazz